Search This Blog

Loading...

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Movie: Elysium


Hello Employees!

I was really looking forward to this movie for a long time. If you didn't know, I am an avid Science Fiction fan, and will go see just about any sci-fi movie that comes out. So that being said, I went into this movie with high hopes and purposely kept unknown to the plot.

So my one word that I'll give "Elysium", is "Savage".

I chose savage because of Elysium itself. It is basically a "perfect" world in which the most wealthy live on. Orbiting the earth, Elysium is a man made space station that was created because of over population on earth. The richest of the rich moved there and with them brought technology that can cure any disease or injury, that only they have access too. Left stranded on earth with a robot police force, the majority of the population are left fighting for opportunities to just make it another day.

Max Da Costa (Matt Damon), a California ex-con who is trying to turn his life around, is presented with an opportunity to change Earth and Elysium forever. Matt Damon really sold the part for me. He showed the desperation of Max, and longing to full fill his childhood dream in a way that never had me question the characters motivation. Sometimes I can get distracted from a story by unconvincing acting, but Damon played it well. Along with him, the rest of the cast did a good job along side, but the Elysian Secretary of Defense, Jessica Delacourt (Jodie Foster), really made you despise Elysian that much more.

Warning! The content below could be considered a spoiler. I mention what I feel could have been better for the storyline, revealing what did not occur in the movie. Read at your own risk.

My biggest problem with this storyline, was how I felt it was unconvincing that not one person on Elysium showed compassion for the remaining people on Earth. I can understand that Earth has transformed into an violent, cruel, crowded place. Also, that the people who live on Elysium are the most rich, and presumably, selfish people from Earth. That being said, humans are not robotic, they are not unemotional, and incapable of being compassionate. There are thousands of people on Elysium from what I could tell, and I felt the storyline would've been a little bit more believable, and maybe even redeeming for Elysium, if someone from the inside (Elysium), would've helped progress the story.

Overall I definitely recommend a watch in the theaters. I feel it's worth it to see Elysium and many of the sci-fi elements in all their glory.

RossBoss Performance Review: 8 out of 10

promoted

PS4 Launch Date Released

Playstation 4 Launches....November 15th in North America!!! and November 29th in Europe and Latin America!
Check out the game trailer page if you want to see the trailers on any of these launch titles:
NBA 2K14
Skylanders Swap Force
Battlefield 4
FIFA 14
Madden 25
Call of Duty: Ghosts
Killzone: Shadow Fall
Need for Speed: Rivals
Watch_Dogs
Just Dance 2014
#DRIVECLUB
Knack
Assassins Creed: Black Flag
LEGO Marvel Superheroes

Batman: Arkham Origins New Trailer!


Check out the new trailer for the video game Batman: Arkham Origins, now in our Game Trailer page!

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Movie: Star Trek Into Darkness



DVD/ Blu-ray release date: September 10, 2013

Release date: May 16, 2013

Director: J.J. Abrams

Rating: PG-13

Prequel: Star Trek

Screenplay: Roberto Orci



Hello Employees! I thought that with the new Star Trek movie coming to DVD and Blu-ray very soon, I would give you my review of the newest installment; Into Darkness.

As usual, to give the movie one word to describe it; “Adventurous”.


Captain Kirk is back again with the Enterprise crew, and I will honestly say that I love this version of James T. Kirk, played by Chris Pine. The casting in the first movie, that was carried over into this film is so fantastic. I really enjoyed Benedict Cumberbatch as the primary villian in this movie as well. His mysterious aura he presented and fiercneness he protrayed was great. I really couldn't say enough good things about his performance.

I saw this movie twice in theaters, for someone who has never been a hardcore Star Trek fan, thats saying something. Now I won't sit here and have you thinking this movie is flawless. From a storyline perspective, it could've been better. It was a little predictable and honestly not very broad. It showed little of any other alien life, and remained focused on earth. I'm a huge fan of science-fiction, and when I watch movies of this genre, I enjoy seeing something I haven't seen before. Wheather that is the technology, civilations, new planets, or aliens. Into Darkness showed more of the same, although I enjoy those same things, I felt it left the movie needing a little more exploration.

I will mention that there was a little controversy over a scene in the movie, in which Alice Eve's character appears posing in her underwear randomly. Surprisingly the screenwriter and producer, Damon Lindelof apologized on Twitter: "I take responsibility and will be more mindful in the future". I will say that it probably should've been cut, and had no real importance other then using it in trailers to attract attention.

As far as special effects go, I thought that they did a pretty good job all throughout the movie. I really don't mind the constant lens flares either, as I see it as just part of the ambiance. I loved the music throughout the film, and really think the sound effects are very identifying.

I can say with excitement that I can't wait for the third movie to get here, that way I can see the Enterprise crew once again. As good as the first? No, but it's not off by much. If you love action, science-fiction, or just space travel, it's your movie. Rent it a.s.a.p., or buy it on blu-ray, worth the money!

RossBoss Performance Review: 8.5 out of 10
promoted

Saturday, August 17, 2013

Movie: Kick-Ass 2




Release Date: 8/16/2013

Director: Jeff Wadlow

Running Time: 103 Minutes

Budget: 28 Million

Screenplay: Jeff Wadlow

Rating: R


Hello Employees! After going to see "Kick-Ass 2", the one word I would use to describe this movie is “Colorful”.

What I enjoyed the most about this movie was the character progression. Most of the movie shows not only the title character; Kick-Ass/ Dave Lizewski (Aaron Taylor-Johnson), but also just as much of Hit-Girl/ Miny Macready (Chole Grace Moretz). Mindy Macready, now being in the 9th grade, continues on her alternate life as Hit-Girl, while struggling with the growing pains of adolescence. Meanwhile Dave Lizewski reaches out as Kick-Ass, to find other normal people dressing up as superheroes with the intention of making a superhero team. The movie went back-and-forth between the two characters, while they dealt with their own struggles through out the movie.

Now some of you may have noticed that Jim Carrey also plays a role in the movie as well. He plays Colonel Stars and Stripes, an ex-mafia thug, turned born again christian. Although his role is just as a side character, I did very much enjoy seeing him play something other then his typical roles as an over-the-top comedic character. He looked like he put on some size for the role as well, which along with the facial scars and mask is why some people probably found it hard to recognize him. I found it interesting as well that Jim Carrey actually withdrew his support of the movie because of its violence after the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting happened. He wrote this in response: I did Kick-Ass a month before Sandy Hook and now in all good conscience I cannot support that level of violence. My apologies to others involved with the film. I am not ashamed of it but recent events have caused a change in my heart.

What drew me to "Kick-Ass 2" was idea that normal people could make the decision to make a difference and fight evil. This movie does a great job of also showing the consequences of doing that and what could really happen. Real evil is no joke, and there would be severe repercussions for someone to try to fight it as a self proclaimed hero. Taking it to the next level, this movie also introduces the opposite; a super villain. The Motherfucker/ Chris D'amico (Christopher Mintz-Plasse), is a hardcore, coldblooded, filthy-rich, teenager who seeks revenge on Kick-Ass for what happened in the first movie. Although The Motherfucker is more funny then scary to the audience, the rest of his evil team are truly fearsome.

My biggest problems with the movie was the mostly unnecessary sexual and nude scenes. Now in some movies, sexuality is a necessity to the storyline, but in "Kick-Ass 2" I felt it was random and just thrown-in because of the known point that sex sells. My other issue I had, was the unrealistic emotional responses by many characters to certain situations. For example (SPOILER ALERT); there was a scene where many of the superheroes had just found out another superhero was killed and decapitated. Their response was just casual conversation about it. If I was them, I would be worried that I could be next, and that the consequences of dressing up in these costumes is severe and the threat real. They just sat around and talked about throwing money into a pot to buy flowers. Really? That's all these normal people would say? It's not like they're Superman or The Flash or something. They are normal people, with baseball bats and bricks in their purse. How can there not be more of a emotional response. Besides that point, I felt the humor fell short. The jokes were pretty cheesy, and I found that I only chuckled at a few parts.

Overall I would say that this movie is not a superhero movie for kids.....at all. It's not really a first date kind of movie either. If you're with a couple friends and want to see an action-packed, ultra violent, semi-humorous movie, then give it a watch, but don't expect it to be as good as the first. I would say that you could get the same effect from watching it in blu-ray, that would from the theater. So maybe save a couple dollars and wait a few months. In the end, "Kick-Ass 2" just didn't live up to it's predecessor.

RossBoss Performance Review: 6 out of 10
FIRED






Thursday, August 15, 2013

Movie: Pacific Rim



Release Date: July 12, 2013 (USA)

Director: Guillermo del Toro

Running time: 131 minutes

Budget: 180 million USD (2013)

Screenplay: Travis Beacham

Rating: PG-13

Hello Employees! If I could describe this movie in just one word, it would be: "Exciting"

Although the story might not be the deepest or most intriguing, I found Pacific Rim to be pure fun to watch. Think Godzilla's on steroids, called Kaijus, fighting Rock 'em-Sock 'em robots, named Jaegers, piloted by two UFC fighters. Although the fighting between the two is most certainly the main focus of this movie, I found my self questioning if giant robots were the best idea to get rid of the Kaiju. I will say they had tried other means of stopping these giant monsters, but it was as if a young child was in charge of the offensive strategies against the Kaiju's. Which is probably why the movie comes across as a young boys imagination come to life. 

The main character; Raliegh Becket, played by Charlie Hunnam (Sons of Anarchy, Green Street Hooligans), is a young conceited pilot, whose only skills seem to be fighting; this being the reason he and the rest of the pilots are chosen. Then through cerebral linking with the other pilot, engage in fights to the death with oceans and cities as their stages. Overall I thought the acting fit the storyline well, I can say that my mind was mostly focusing on which Jaeger I liked best more then the characters. I will say I was a little surprised to see Charlie Day (Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Horrible Bosses) in the movie. He played his typical comic relief, but also, story progressing doctor named, Newton Geiszler. Who, I will say, I found to be amusing yet sometimes annoying at parts, like I find with any character Charlie Days plays.

In the end, with little background into most characters and only short explanations into the Jaegers and Kaijus themselves, I recommend you watch "Pacific Rim" for what it is; a brawling but-kicking joy ride. Overall I would say that it is definitely worth paying a few extra dollars to see the Jaegers and Kaiju in their full form on the big screen. 

RossBoss Performance Review: 7.5 out of 10
promoted